top of page


It is with Jesus’ Joy that I greet you, my  brothers and sisters, and welcome you to the  Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc., and Theological Seminary. We are excited that  you are investigating and gathering some information concerning our school.
Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc.,  and Theological Seminary has a rich history  and is second to none when it comes to  providing quality Christian education--hence our motto, “Providing Quality Christian Education for Dynamic Christian Living.” We believe that the proof of receiving a good Christian Education is demonstrated in the lives of those who receive it.

Our graduates have gone on to do great things for the Lord in Kingdom Building.  Many are pastors, have organized churches and other religious organizations, have served on the Missions Field, have served or are currently serving as Moderators and Presidents of Christian Associations and Conventions, and have preached the gospel of Jesus Christ across this nation and abroad.  One of our most notable graduates was the late Rev. Dr. Betty Peebles, Co-Organizer and former pastor of the Jericho City of Praise located in Landover, Maryland.
On behalf of our Board of Directors, Faculty, Staff, and Student Body we thank you for considering our school.  It is my prayer and sincerest desire that you will consider contacting us and enrolling in classes here at the Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc., and Theological Seminary.
In Christ’s service,

Rev. Dr. Sterling R. Swann, Jr., D.D.,Th.D., Ed.D.
President, Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc., and Theological Seminary

WHW 1.jpeg

Our Vision

​Our vision is to be America’s greatest religious and theological seminary.  Wilbur Henry Waters is accomplishing this vision by delivering excellent graduate and under graduate degrees to provide quality Christian education for dynamic Christian living and ensuring every student has access to an affordable theological education.  


Our Mission

The Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc., and Theological Seminary is a theological institute of higher learning dedicated to educating religious leaders for churches who will be personally whole, spiritually mature, biblical grounded and theologically competent.  The motto of the school,  Providing Quality  Christian Education for Dynamic Christian Living, reflects our desire to impact the church and prepare spiritual leaders for the work of the ministry. 

Equal Opportunity 
Wilbur Henry Waters School of Religion, Inc., and Theological Seminary admits students of any race, religion, gender,  nationality, and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs, and activities generally accorded or made available to students at the school.  It does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, nationality or ethnic origin in administration of its educational policies and admissions policies.



 Committed to the church and to the task of preparing spiritual leaders


Board of Directors

  1. Dr. Augustus Henderson, Chairman of the Board

  2. Dr. Carolyn Gilmore, Vice Chairperson

  3. Dr. Sterling R. Swann, Jr. 

  4. Dr. Spencer Isaac 

  5. Rev. Samuel King 

  6. Dr. Reginald Tarver

  7. Rev. Joseph K. Goodwin

  8. Dr. John Franklin

  9. Dr. Carolyn Gilmore

  10.  Dr. Joanne Ward

  11. Rev. Arlene Franklin

  12. Rev. Carrie Diggins


Dr. Sterling R. Swann Jr. 

Vice Presidents

  1. Dr. Spencer Isaac, 1st VP

  2. Rev. Samuel King, 2nd VP 

  3. Dr. Reginald Tarver, 3rd VP


  1. Dr. Joanne Ward, Executive Secretary

  2. Rev. Arlene Franklin,  Admin Assist., Finance Secretary

  3. Rev. Carrie Diggins, Registrar

  4. Rev. Joseph K. Goodwin, Chaplain

  5. Rev. Reginald Farmer, Chapel Service Leader 


  1. Rev. Carrie Diggins, Dean, Student Affairs

  2. Dr.  Reginald Tarver, Dean Academic Affairs

  3. Dr. Spencer Isaac, Dean, Administrative Affairs

Assistant Deans

  1. Rev. Reginald Farmer, Assistant Dean, Student Affairs

  2. Dr. Thomas Barringer, Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs

  3. Dr. Rick Spruill, Assistant Dean, Administrative Affairs

bottom of page